Monday, February 7, 2011

L'esame orale

Today I took my final final exam for the first semester.  Yes, I know, its February.  Most of you have been finished since December or years for that matter.  The Italian system is a little different, all majors take finals at different times, you have 3 times to get it right, and you have 1-3 months to study for them after the semester classes end.  Strano!  Anyways, I took my exam for Letteratura Italiana.  I sat through 60 hours of Italian babble, wrote a 12-page paper in Italian on Dante's Inferno, and read 4 other books by Italian authors including Svevo, D'Annunzio, and Machiavelli.  I still managed pulled an all-nighter studying, even though I had over a month to prepare.  Its just what we Americans do for exams, right?  I was a little frazzled this morning to say the least.  Mallory and I walked to where we were going to take our exam, 45 minutes early, and when we got there the door to the building was locked shut.  Immediately, due to lack of sleep and sanity, we started laughing uncontrollably. We started shouting "NO EXAM! NO EXAM!" No, we still had an exam, we are just idiots. We went to the wrong door.  I wondered if this was a precursor to what my exam was going to be. Then we waited outside my professor's closed office door until he ushered us inside.  He went over our papers with us, pointing out errors and asking us questions.  He then drilled us on specifics of the books we had read: characters, locations, time periods, similarities between them and the main themes.  He really made sure we had read the books.  After about an hour of this, I ran out of his office with a huge smile on my face and a 27 marked on my Italian transcript.  No, not out of 100, but a 30.  I know, again, the Italians do things very strangely. Mallory and I celebrated by treating ourselves to breakfast at a little outdoor caffè. Afterward, we met up with Maried who had also just rocked her final exam and took a relaxing giro around Bologna because WE DIDN'T HAVE TO STUDY ANYMORE!!! Bring on the second semester!

The door to the wrong building.
Where judgment awaited us...
WE PASSED!
Apparently we went to Mexico to get breakfast?
My future vespa.
A pharmacy by my house.

Baci xx

2 comments:

  1. OMG! I LAUGHED SOOOO HARD I WOKE UP VINCENZO SLEEPING ON THE COUCH! I COULDN'T HELP BUT PICTURE YOU SCREAMING NO EXAM, NO EXAM ...and the fact that you pulled an all-nighter with a month to study ! LOL & WMP (Wet my pants) :>O jk

    Love ya, Aunt Susie

    ReplyDelete