Saturday, January 15, 2011

This one's for you dad!

So me and my friends are poor.  Well not really, but kinda.  Not poor in the sense that we have to come back to the United States (much to our family and friends dismay) but poor in the sense that we want to go places like Madrid, Spain and are pretending that we have no money at all to spend.  So today, after a long day of studying we decided to make dinner for a break.  We realized though, that we had absolutely nothing to eat at all.  So we dug to the bottom of our purses and got together €7,50 for our dinner. Mallory wanted a snack, I wanted bread, and Maried wanted to eat.  So Mal and I set out to the local grocery store COOP (pronounced "COPE" not "co-op" how you Americans would think).  Excited about our little challenge, on the way out the door Mal exclaimed "I kinda like being poor!"  Maried and I quickly agreed.

Armed with self-control and only the money we brought, we settled on pasta (€0,64), sugo arrabbiata (€0,99), and popcorn (€1,12).  Then we didn't know what to do.  We came with more money. Could we spend it?  With our future health and girlish figures in mind, we decided to grab some fruit and got two apples (€1,05) and two oranges (€1,50) our biggest splurge.  For all you math majors out there our grand total came to €5,30.  And for all you English majors, I did not mess up all the periods.  We use commas to write our numbers over here! Sneakily, I tried to convince Mal to let us buy peach tea juice boxes, "They're only 48 cents Mal!" but she had more self-control that I did and firmly set her foot down. So now we have a snack, fruit and dinner for €1,76 a person.  And with our remaining €2,20 we might even be able to eat in Madrid!

Note: We are working on a paypal account for all of you readers to donate money so that we can eat in the future. Updates coming soon. :)

baci xx

No comments:

Post a Comment