Monday, August 30, 2010

Lost in Bologna

I made it. I am in Italy. I am freaking out.

Okay so I am not freaking out all the time.  I have gotten to know the city and am already starting to know the names of streets are areas that I should and should not be at night. I have even been hit on twice in Italian and understood it. Ha ha. I am trying to stay really busy so that I do not get homesick.  Lauren (the other girl from U of I) and I have been apartment hunting but that has come to a standstill because my Italian cell phone has not yet been activated. 

There are so many thoughts going through my head while I am finding apartments. Will they like me? What if they want to only speak English? How many people should I live with? Boys? Girls? Both? What if the boys are really cute? What if I get lost and no one is with me to find the aparment?

Speaking of getting lost....I got lost for about 20 minutes today.  I couldn't sleep and was awake at 5:00 am, watching the movie UP.  After about 45 minutes of this, I decided to go for a quick run to settle my racing thoughts about apartments and planning trips and missing home.  Well this little run quickly turned into a 45 minute adventure.  The plan was originally to run about 1.5 miles but after realizing that I had no idea where I was and after taking streets that were winding in circles, my "little" run turned into a 5 mile excursion.  Thank god it was 6:00 am and no one was out yet except for people walking their dogs (which are everywhere!!).  I was just about to ask for directions from a cute boy on a Vespa when I remembered that I was sweating profusely.  Luckily the next street I ran into was the one my hotel was on. 

Its now 4:00 pm and I have not gone back to bed. Tomorrow is my first official day of class.  I actually met more people in my program today.  I think we are going to head out for some drinks tonight. Lets see how getting up by 8:30 tomorrow morning goes.......

5 comments:

  1. Ellennnnnn!!!!

    I miss you! Keep up the posts. I'm loving them.

    Go find cute boys to live with.....

    ReplyDelete
  2. Take pics! And don't let a little sweat stop you!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Cute and on a vespa ... 2 points. Why did a little sweet stop you. Miss you sister :) please run in safe places and eat slot of amazing food for me

    Love BK

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ellen!

    I am glad you are not freaking out all the time. I think you should (if you can) try to find a mixed house. Those are the most fun! and if they only want to speak english speak to them back only in italian! How is class going so far? How are your classmates? I hope you know your way around by now...but i knida hope you dont know so you get to keep the excuse to stop cute italian boy on the street and ask them for directions!

    LOVE Katie

    ReplyDelete
  5. I know...a little late on getting on and reading what is happening. I can see you running and running. Actually, did Ally tell you about her 'run' thru the Ann Arbor Woods? She got lost in the woods, panicked, saw a house, jumped a fence and kept running until she found home. It was as funny of a story as yours. I think you have inherited the Garnett curse of mis-direction. Ha!

    ReplyDelete