Monday, August 30, 2010

Lost in Bologna

I made it. I am in Italy. I am freaking out.

Okay so I am not freaking out all the time.  I have gotten to know the city and am already starting to know the names of streets are areas that I should and should not be at night. I have even been hit on twice in Italian and understood it. Ha ha. I am trying to stay really busy so that I do not get homesick.  Lauren (the other girl from U of I) and I have been apartment hunting but that has come to a standstill because my Italian cell phone has not yet been activated. 

There are so many thoughts going through my head while I am finding apartments. Will they like me? What if they want to only speak English? How many people should I live with? Boys? Girls? Both? What if the boys are really cute? What if I get lost and no one is with me to find the aparment?

Speaking of getting lost....I got lost for about 20 minutes today.  I couldn't sleep and was awake at 5:00 am, watching the movie UP.  After about 45 minutes of this, I decided to go for a quick run to settle my racing thoughts about apartments and planning trips and missing home.  Well this little run quickly turned into a 45 minute adventure.  The plan was originally to run about 1.5 miles but after realizing that I had no idea where I was and after taking streets that were winding in circles, my "little" run turned into a 5 mile excursion.  Thank god it was 6:00 am and no one was out yet except for people walking their dogs (which are everywhere!!).  I was just about to ask for directions from a cute boy on a Vespa when I remembered that I was sweating profusely.  Luckily the next street I ran into was the one my hotel was on. 

Its now 4:00 pm and I have not gone back to bed. Tomorrow is my first official day of class.  I actually met more people in my program today.  I think we are going to head out for some drinks tonight. Lets see how getting up by 8:30 tomorrow morning goes.......

Friday, August 27, 2010

My bags are packed...

I did it. Well kind of. My suitcases are in the car and I have my backpack filled with shoes and boots.  I cannot believe that I am actually getting on a plane today for a year.  Its almost too weird to think about. I only broke down crying twice so far today, but the airport I am sure is going to be another story. I know, I know. I have done this before but for some reason I think this time it is harder to leave.  My entire summer was spent with friends and family and I couldn't have asked for a better summer.  Maybe thats why it is so hard.  I am going to miss going downtown for the night, watching movies in my basement, catching up with friends over a drink, taking Petey for a walk, "tanning" at lake houses, baseball games, cheese fries, and country music.  Sometimes I don't know if I can live without all those things.

But then I remember, there is gelato in Bologna.........

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Baci

So if you haven't figured it out by now, I am moving to Bologna, Italy for the next year. I am going there to study abroad at the Università di Bologna. This will be my second time studying abroad in Italy. The last time I studied at the Politecnico di Torino, in Torino, Italy for a semester. I had the absolute time of my life. I expect that this time will be no different.

I decided to write this blog for when I am in Italy to share some stories and adventures that I have. The last time I studied abroad, I sent emails to everyone, but this time, you have the choice to read what I am writing! I know. Exciting! I won't be flooding your inbox with emails (unless you want me to!) but flooding the internet with my pointless stories and updates about what type of gelato I ate today. I am still working on the layout and theme of my blog so look out for changes. I hope you enjoy reading my blog and keeping up with me while I am abroad in Bologna.

My flight takes off on August 27th so these next few weeks will be spent packing, spending time with family and friends, and having a few minor meltdowns before I leave. Anyone who knows me understands that these meltdowns are normal. Don't worry. I will survive.

Ci vediamo!!!!